9 C
Thursday, February 22, 2024
Older PostsIsrael Cabinet Ministers and Knesset Members for Unity Government

Israel Cabinet Ministers and Knesset Members for Unity Government

Must Read

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Last Updated on June 29, 2021

Ministers in Israel’s 35th government sworn in on 17th, May 2020.

A record number of Cabinet Ministers were sworn in on May 17th, 2020 to serve in Israel’s unity government.  Together with Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu (in the first rotation) and Benny Gantz (Prime Minister in the second rotation), 35 ministers make up the unity government. In total, 120 Knesset Members (MK’s) are elected for a 4 year term.

 israel cabinet ministers knesset members

120 Knesset Members (MK’s) are elected for a 4 year term – Image Credit: Unsplash

These are the ministers:

David Amsalem   Minister for Cyber and National Digital Matters
Gavriel Ashkenazi   Minister of Foreign Affairs
Yaakov Avitan   Minister of Religious Affairs
Michael Biton    Minister in the Ministry of Defense
Eli Cohen   Minister of Intelligence
Meirav Cohen   Minister of Social Equality and Minority Affairs
Aryeh Machluf Deri   Minister of the Interior
Yuli-Yoel Edelstein   Minister of Health
Zeev Elkin   Minister of Higher and Secondary Education and Water Resources
Gilad Erdan   Minister of Regional Cooperation
Orit Farkash-Hacohen   Minister of Strategic Affairs
Yoav Gallant   Minister of Education
Gila Gamliel   Minister of Environmental Protection
Benjamin Gantz   Minister of Defense
Tzachi Hanegbi   Minister Without Portfolio
Yoaz Hendel   Minister of Communications
Tzipi Hotovely   Minister of Settlement Affairs
Israel Katz   Minister of Finance
Orly Levi-Abekasis   Minister for Community Strengthening and Advancement
Yakov Litzman   Minister of Construction and Housing
Avi Nissenkorn   Minister of Justice
Amir Ohana   Minister of Public Security
Amir Peretz   Minister of the Economy
Rafael Peretz   Minister of Jerusalem Affairs and Heritage
Miri Regev   Minister of Transportation
Alon Schuster   Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development
Izhar Shay   Minister of Science and Technology
Itzik Shmuli   Minister of Labor and Social Welfare
Yuval Steinitz   Minister of Energy
Penina Tamanu   Minister of Immigration and Absorption
Yehiel Tropper   Minister of Culture and Sport
Omer Yankelevitch   Minister of Diaspora Affairs
Asaf Zamir   Minister of Tourism

Make-up of the 23rd Knesset

Parliamentary Group Number of Seats
Likud 36
Blue and White 15
Joint List, Hadash, Ra’am, Ta’al, Balad 15
Shas 9
United Torah Judaism 7
Labor-Gesher-Meretz 0
Yisrael Beitenu 7
Yemina 6
Labor-Meretz 0
Gesher 1
Yesh Atid – Telem 16
Derech Eretz 2
Israeli Labor Party 3
Meretz 3

Information source: www.knesset.gov.il

Business Directory

More articles

Latest Articles