Medications Kosher for Pesach – תרופות כשרות לפסח
Are your medications kosher for Pesach? Make sure!
The Torah lays out a whole system of dietary laws that Jews observe throughout the year; Kashrut – the separation meat and dairy, the rule against eating certain animals, the regulations for kosher slaughter and the prohibition of eating certain parts of certain animals.
When Pesach arrives, an additional set of dietary rules apply for the length of the holiday. Jews are prescribed from eating any foods that contain leaven or leavening agents (chametz).
- Navigate the Israeli medical and health system with us
- Learn new Hebrew words with these free word sheets, by topic
When it comes to medication certain medications are permitted during the year even though they are not kosher. When Pesach comes, the question arises whether the restrictions of Passover would preclude their use.
A patient who is not seriously ill may not take any medicine which contains even a small amount of edible chametz.
Can I take these? Kupat Holim Clalit has just published a list of medications that are kosher for Pesach. Click here to access the Pesach kosher medication list.
Learn new Hebrew words
The Ashkenazi/Yiddish pronunciation of the word ‘chametz’ is ‘chometz’, however in Hebrew ‘chometz’ is vinegar.
|Word||Hebrew Spelling||Word||Hebrew Spelling|